ImageEn Library for Delphi, C++ and .Net
 ImageEn and IEvolution Support Forum
 General questions to dcrawlib.dll
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

am24

30 Posts

Posted - May 01 2014 :  23:27:42  Show Profile  Reply
Please help me to understand the dcrawlib addon a bit better. I'm very new to ImageEn and dcrawlib and could not find answers to the following questions:

1. The download includes "dcrawlib.dll", "GPL-dcrawlib.dll" and the source. What's the exact difference between those two DLL files?

2. Can I redistribute the "dcrawlib.dll" with my own (closed source) application? Is it totally free? Or are there any requirements such as placing a credit in the program documentations, About box, etc?

3. What's the license for using and redistributing "dcrawlib.dll"?

4. Is it required to also redistribute the source code that is available in the ZIP file?

5. Would it be possible that you digitally sign the dcrawlib.dll (as you already do with the ielib32/64 DLLs)?

6. Is there also a 64bit version available? Or can it be used in 32bit applications only?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide,
Martin

Uwe

284 Posts

Posted - May 02 2014 :  08:48:49  Show Profile  Reply
Martin

To answer your questions:

1. The GPL version contains restricted functions to support Faveon sensors (X3F). See the licence agreement in dcraw.c for details. The non-GPL version has this code removed and can be freely distributed.

Using the GPL version doesn't make sense anyway because most X3F images from newer Sigma cameras can't be read by DCRAW.

2. Yes, as long as it's the non-GPL version. Crediting Dave Coffin for his work is certainly in order.

3. Quote from dcraw.c: "No license is required to download and use dcraw.c". Same goes for dcrawlib.dll, of course.

4. No

5. You have to compile it yourself. That's what I do because I can't expect Xequte to provide the latest version immediately after its release all the time.